Chickens First Snow

Last night we got our first real snow of the season.  I took some pictures before messing them up with footprints.

DSCF0001

I then raked out the run, even with a roof the snow blew in. I then opened the coop-run door.  The ladies did not want to come out.  Finally with some sunflower seed bribes, three came down.

DSCF0005

Miny and Mo

DSCF0006

Mini

Enough of this I have work to do.  My driveway is long, wide and covered in snow. An hour or two later, the driveway is cleared and miraculously there are a maze of snow-blower paths (the crazy things we do for our chickens)  for the chickens to explore.  Four explored, two did not. Jack and Mini stayed in the coop (I’m not going to guess what they were doing) all morning long.

DSCF0012

Jasmine, Mo, Miny and Ini

DSCF0008

When the adventurous four went back into the run Jack and Mini finally came down and joined them.  Jack, my rooster, is a bit of a chicken.

Ed

4 comments
  1. I am amazed and love chicken snow photos. Not something I see living in the North Island of New Zealand. My girls obviously don’t know how lucky they are here in our winter.

    • I’ve lived in New England all my life and I still see the first snowflakes of the season and the first heavy snow as magical. This is my chickens first winter and I don’t think they see this as magical. It’s going to be cold all week so not much will melt. I gave a lot of thought to my coop and run before building them. The covered run so I wouldn’t have to shovel out the snow would take up less time every snow storm. So, why am I snow-blowing and shoveling paths in the yard for my chickens?? My brother has asked me in the past ” when does a healthy hobby become an unhealthy obsession?? “.
      Ed

  2. sbm64 said:

    Ok, I get Ini, Mini, Mini, Mo but um Jasmine? A Disney Princess Fantasy, Ed?

    • Hi Sally,
      The name Jasmine is from one of my favorite Movies “Second Hand Lion”.

Leave a Reply

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

BuzzQuack

Helping gardeners get the most bang for their BAWK!

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

cats.don't.camp

The Adventures of a Girl Without Her Cat

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Adventures with Spice

From the Trails to the Cities, Find Beauty in Everything

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

mygardenmychickens

my backyard garden in holliston

Outdoorsandmore

Writing from the heart of Somerset

backyardchickenwisdom

Just another WordPress.com site

The Chick Roost

"Ain't nobody here but us chickens"

The Hillhouse

The Journey of a Mother and Son

Willow Creek Farm

High Altitude Homesteading

Life at Brookwood Shire

Living with Nature

