Greens in the Winter

My wonderful wife has arranged to pick up discarded produce at our local “Whole Foods”  store once-a-week.  The ladies and Jack do love their greens, I need a better way to store them because they do wilt in the cellar over the week.  She brought home a lot of those baby cut carrots (organic) one time and I have been shredding them in the food processor. They eat a soup bowl full in a day.

This is the box she came home with this afternoon.

DSCF0001

The things we do for our chickens.

Ed

2 comments
  1. Kate said:

    Hi Ed, you gave me your card while we were in line @ Hopkinton Drugs. I love your blog, and look forward to when I have chickens someday. I’ll share your info with a friend in Shrewsbury who built his own beautiful coop. Tell me about Jack: how do you know if the eggs you collect are fertile….also, does Jack cock-a-doodle-do you awake too early every day? I have heard a few negative tales about roosters from other chicken-owning friends.(Nothing personal, Jack.)
    It’s nice to know people who show such kindness and respect to animals:)

    • Hi Kate, Thank you for your kind words. I don’t know if the eggs are fertile. I would think they are since Jack services the ladies frequently in any day, all of them. That’s one of his jobs. None of the hens have gone broody they lay the eggs and leave the nesting box so little chicks aren’t in our future. Once the eggs are refrigerated any development is stopped. My coop is a little over 90 feet from the back of the house and with the coop shut and the house windows closed Jacks crow is very faint. So, No, Jacks crow doesn’t wake me. In the summer with the house windows open I’m more aware of him but mostly I just smile when I hear him. Both my wife and I handled the chicks when they were young so they would be used to being picked up. They might not like it but they tolerate it. Jack likes it least, but he can be picked up by my wife and I. Another job of Jacks is to protect the ladies and when strangers are near he will bristle and attack if that stranger gets too close to the ladies. So far his attacks are pecking the shoes of the stranger. He is a good boy for which we are grateful because he adds so much to this experience.
      Ed

Leave a Reply

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

BuzzQuack

Helping gardeners get the most bang for their BAWK!

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

cats.don't.camp

The Adventures of a Girl Without Her Cat

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Adventures with Spice

From the Trails to the Cities, Find Beauty in Everything

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

mygardenmychickens

my backyard garden in holliston

Outdoorsandmore

Writing from the heart of Somerset

backyardchickenwisdom

Just another WordPress.com site

The Chick Roost

"Ain't nobody here but us chickens"

The Hillhouse

The Journey of a Mother and Son

Willow Creek Farm

High Altitude Homesteading

Life at Brookwood Shire

Living with Nature

