Garlic

My friend Jake told me enough with the chickens, how about the garden.  Well, It’s hard to blog about your garden when you can’t get to it.  I have 2 main gardens, one on the east side of my driveway and one on the west side.  Both still have snow in them.  The west side snow is still 1-2 feet deep, ( the snowblower piles it in this one), the east side is almost snow free.  I did venture into the east garden  yesterday to see how my garlic was doing.

This is my history of garlic.

My heritage is Irish and English, so growing up I never saw garlic in the kitchen or anywhere else.   My wife’s heritage is Italian and Hungarian.  When she moved in with me she asked me where I kept my spices.  I said in the left drawer.  She did not consider salt, pepper, lemon peel and a box of pumpkin pie spice as spices.  She had a large cardboard box  filled with spices.  Some of them I think are lethal, just my opinion.  And she cooks with garlic.

Time goes on and I start using garlic in moderation.  I’m open-minded.  She wants to know if I would like to go to a “Garlic Festival” with her.  I’m not that open-minded.  But I did go.  And I had a good time.  And I went to a talk on growing garlic.  I like to grow things.  I bought a starter garlic growing kit, well it was 4 different garlic bulbs and planting instructions. Four years later and I am still growing garlic.   I have lost track of the 4 different types, I save 4 of the largest bulbs from the fall harvest to plant in October or November for the next season.

Even if I didn’t use the garlic, I would still plant it.  Why???  Because it is the first sign of life in the garden after the winter.  Spring is coming, another gardening season is starting, the garlic is up.

Garlic  3/29/13

Garlic 3/29/13

Now if the snow will melt in my blueberry patch, I’ll be able to finish pruning them.

Blueberry Patch

Blueberry Patch

Ed

 

Leave a Reply

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

BuzzQuack

Helping gardeners get the most bang for their BAWK!

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

cats.don't.camp

The Adventures of a Girl Without Her Cat

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Adventures with Spice

From the Trails to the Cities, Find Beauty in Everything

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

mygardenmychickens

my backyard garden in holliston

Outdoorsandmore

Writing from the heart of Somerset

backyardchickenwisdom

Just another WordPress.com site

The Chick Roost

"Ain't nobody here but us chickens"

The Hillhouse

The Journey of a Mother and Son

Willow Creek Farm

High Altitude Homesteading

Life at Brookwood Shire

Living with Nature

