More Spring

It is official, Spring is here, my Magnolia is blooming.  It is one of the earliest flowering Magnolias that I see in the area so some years it gets zapped by a frosty night and looses its flowers.  I’m hoping  that doesn’t happen this year.  No cold nights are expected for the next week.  We’ll see.

DSCF0001

 

DSCF0003

I’ve gotten into the garden and planted peas.  I don’t plant them in neat rows, I sprinkle them heavily in a foot wide row along my garden fence.  Then I rake them in, tamp them down and water.  Some of the seeds are on the surface, most are under dirt, some have room and some are touching other seeds.  It will be a jungle of vines when it is time to harvest but the yield will be great.  I hope.

The spinach that I planted in my cold frame last fall is starting to grow again.  There are too many plants in too small a space so I dug out over thirty and transplanted them into the west garden about  5 inches apart in all directions.  The picture of the cold frame is after I dug out over thirty seedlings.  I plan to transplant more as time allows.  Probably should be doing that instead of blogging.

spinach in cold frame 4/10/13

spinach in cold frame 4/10/13

transplanted spinach 4/10/13

transplanted spinach 4/10/13

Ed

 

6 comments
  1. Still covered in 4 inches of fresh snow here. And it was 1F this morning at milking. It’s bound to warm up at some point.

    • Oh my!! I will never complain about New England weather again.
      Ya right.
      Ed

  2. Karen said:

    Nice to discover another New England gardener…I hope your lovely magnolia blooms its little heart out. I’m in New Hampshire and we may get sleet tomorrow.

    • There are lots of New England gardeners out there. They spend so much time in their gardens and planning their gardens that they just don’t have the time to blog. Love your potting shed. I have 2 sliding doors that are all insulated glass that I hope to turn into a potting shed/greenhouse someday. Ahh the list of projects keeps growing. I think I will go putter in the garden, it’s not raining very hard.
      Ed

      • Karen said:

        I’m glad you like my potting shed…it is nice to have a place to start plants while it is still cold.

Leave a Reply

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

BuzzQuack

Helping gardeners get the most bang for their BAWK!

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

cats.don't.camp

The Adventures of a Girl Without Her Cat

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Adventures with Spice

From the Trails to the Cities, Find Beauty in Everything

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

mygardenmychickens

my backyard garden in holliston

Outdoorsandmore

Writing from the heart of Somerset

backyardchickenwisdom

Just another WordPress.com site

The Chick Roost

"Ain't nobody here but us chickens"

The Hillhouse

The Journey of a Mother and Son

Willow Creek Farm

High Altitude Homesteading

Life at Brookwood Shire

Living with Nature

