Pictures

chickens preparing the coldframe now that the spinach has been transplanted

chickens preparing the coldframe now that the spinach has been transplanted

my magnolia has been filling the yard with perfume all day

 

DSCF0001

chickens on the rock chickens on the rock

 

there is a worm in this pile of wood-chips,  I saw it!!

there is a worm in this pile of wood-chips, I saw it!!

multi-dibbles,  12 inches square

multi-dibbles, 12 inches square

Multi-dibbles are a planting tool for spacing of seeds or seedlings.  They are 12 inches square with 4 short dowels for 6 inch spacing, 9 short dowels for 4 inch spacing and 16 short dowels for 3 inch spacing.  You just press it into the dirt and plant in the holes.  Move it over and press it again.

multi dibble,  freshly sown garden section and wood-chip walkways

multi dibble, freshly sown garden section and wood-chip walkways

I really like the wood-chip walkways.  With defined walk-ways the garden soil doesn’t get compacted so the plants grow better and the walk-ways don’t turn to mud.  It’s cheaper than making raised beds and being a frugal yankee, I like that.

It is so good to be playing in the dirt.  AND I HAVE 2 SHOOTS OF ASPARAGUS POKING THROUGH THE WINTER HORSE MANURE MULCH.  YEAH!!!!   I know, I’ll need more than 2 for a meal but they are late this year and I’m glad they are making an appearance.  There isn’t anything better than tender asparagus fresh from the garden.  I refuse to buy that rubbery thin stuff they call asparagus in the super-market.

Ed

6 comments
  1. Those multi-dibbles look like a very handy tool. I’ll have to have my husband make some for me.

    • They work great in a “square-foot” garden. From “Crocketts Victory Garden” book, they have been around for quite a while. Why add to your husbands “to-do” list??? They aren’t that hard to make.
      Ed

      • Good point! Maybe oldest son and I can make them together, husband has enough on his plate around here.

  2. How long are the dowels and did you screw them in or glue them into a hole?

    • I used 3/4 inch plywood, didn’t go all the way through with the holes and made the holes tight for the dowels. A little glue and drive them in. I didn’t use an exterior plywood, if mine gets wet for any period of time the plywood will fall apart. I’ve had these 2 dibble boards for 4 years now. The 6 inch spacing, 4 dowels is on one side of a board and the 4 inch spacing, 9 dowels is on the other side. The 3 inch spacing is all by it’s self. I’ve also written down on the boards what veggies require that spacing. I’m getting a little forgetful.
      I don’t know how old your son is but a kindergartener would enjoy pounding in the dowels with a hammer. I’d have to ask one of my grandkids.
      Oh! See I forgot. The dowels stick out maybe an inch. I rounded the ends some but I don’t think it matters. Rounding the edge of the end that you drive into the board will help it line up .
      Ed

Leave a Reply

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

BuzzQuack

Helping gardeners get the most bang for their BAWK!

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

cats.don't.camp

The Adventures of a Girl Without Her Cat

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Adventures with Spice

From the Trails to the Cities, Find Beauty in Everything

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

mygardenmychickens

my backyard garden in holliston

Outdoorsandmore

Writing from the heart of Somerset

backyardchickenwisdom

Just another WordPress.com site

The Chick Roost

"Ain't nobody here but us chickens"

The Hillhouse

The Journey of a Mother and Son

Willow Creek Farm

High Altitude Homesteading

Life at Brookwood Shire

Living with Nature

