Garden stuff;Leeks, Dibbles and Rhubarb

I set my leeks into my garden using a newly made dibble, close to the size and shape of the seedlings  from the multi-pack.  The dibble certainly made the transplanting much easier, push it into the ground and you have a perfectly shaped hole to place the young seedling in.

Dibble and leek seedlings

Dibble and leek seedlings

This dibble is the first single one that I have tried .  I have a couple of multi-dibbles that I have used for years.  https://mygardenmychickens.wordpress.com/2013/04/18/pictures/

I set my leek seedlings in a dug out boxed area or place an open bottomed box over them.  The sides are about 6 inches high.  As the leeks grow I add compost around them till the compost is level with the top of the box.  This will give me a 6- 8 inch white leek at harvest time.

Leek seedlings planted in bottomless box

Leek seedlings planted in bottomless box

Mother nature sometimes helps with the plant selection for the garden.  I planted New Zealand spinach 4 years ago and have not planted it since. But, every year since then I have New Zealand spinach growing in my garden.  I just have to find where the small seedlings are growing and transplant them to where I want them .  I thought this year I wasn’t getting any but I found some seedlings growing in with the garlic.  When they get a little bigger, I will move 3 or 4 to their rightful spot.

Also this year Mother nature selected 6 Russian Red Kale plants and 4 dill plants to be part of the garden.  The kale was a surprise, mostly because I had decided not to plant any of the Russian this year.  Not wanting to piss-off Mother nature, I found them a spot, well 6 spots.  The dill was gratefully received since the dill I planted didn’t grow at all.

My rhubarb is very happy this year.  Bigger, taller, thicker, fuller and just lush.

Happy Rhubarb,  with fencing to keep out the chickens.

Happy Rhubarb, with fencing to keep out the chickens.

Garlic 5/22/13

Garlic 5/22/13

Peas  5/22/13

Peas 5/22/13

One last item in the garden. Actually there are 2 of them, I only got a picture of the smaller one.

Garter snake  5/25/13

Garter snake 5/25/13

Ed

5 comments
  1. I still need to get to making us some dibbles. Not enough hours in the day!

Leave a comment

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

cats.don't.camp

The Adventures of a Girl Without Her Cat

Kathleen Palm

A little light. A little dark. A lot weird.

Adventures with Spice

From the Trails to the Cities, Find Beauty in Everything

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

mygardenmychickens

my backyard garden in holliston

Outdoorsandmore

Writing from the heart of Somerset

backyardchickenwisdom

Just another WordPress.com site

The Chick Roost

"Ain't nobody here but us chickens"

The Hillhouse

The Journey of a Mother and Son

Willow Creek Farm

Homesteading from the High-Altitude Mountains to the High Plains of Colorado

Life at Brookwood Shire

Living with Nature