Sleeping under the Stars, Asparagus, Eggs and Julia Childs

When I first put the young chickens out in their coop, https://mygardenmychickens.wordpress.com/2012/12/13/chicks/  I would lock them in for most of the time for a week.  This was so they would learn that the coop was safe and that it was where you go at night to sleep.  They learned this lesson with very little problems.  But, now that the weather is getting nice, they have decided to sleep in the run on the high roost.  OK, by me, the run is secure, chain-link dog run with chicken wire buried 18 inches in the ground.  I say they are camping out.  They did sleep in the coop the night we had a very close and severe thunder storm.

Chickens roosting for the night in the run.  5/22/13

Chickens roosting for the night in the run. 5/22/13

One of my favorite movies is “Julie and Julia”, part of the reason I blog.  For Christmas last year my mother-in-law gave me a new copy of “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” by Julia Childs.  I should add that it is now a two volume set.  I’m not going to “cook my way through it” like in the movie but I will cook from it.  So last Monday I had a lot of fresh asparagus that was to be supper.  I made (I’ll use the english name) an Asparagus Mold from Julia Childs famous cook book.  It was great, fresh asparagus and backyard fresh eggs.  I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, but, close enough.  My wife says I never follow any recipe exactly.  She liked it too. Sorry the picture isn’t great and I should have taken a picture before I served some of it.  The whole mold looked very impressive.  Just my opinion.

Asparagus mold from "Mastering the Art of French Cooking"

Asparagus mold from “Mastering the Art of French Cooking”

Ed

 

2 comments
  1. haha – I have chickens too – aren’t they cool…. I just have two but they follow me around everywhere…

Leave a Reply

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

BuzzQuack

Helping gardeners get the most bang for their BAWK!

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

cats.don't.camp

The Adventures of a Girl Without Her Cat

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Adventures with Spice

From the Trails to the Cities, Find Beauty in Everything

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

mygardenmychickens

my backyard garden in holliston

Outdoorsandmore

Writing from the heart of Somerset

backyardchickenwisdom

Just another WordPress.com site

The Chick Roost

"Ain't nobody here but us chickens"

The Hillhouse

The Journey of a Mother and Son

Willow Creek Farm

High Altitude Homesteading

Life at Brookwood Shire

Living with Nature

