Corn Cob Feeder and Turnips

My chickens are spoiled, pampered and have a pretty good deal here.  Well, I think so.  I try to set up feeders and think of ways to keep the treats that the ladies and Jack get  from getting dirty.  I wouldn’t want to eat my treats off of the ground.  They love watermelon on a hot day just as I do.  Have you ever seen  watermelon that has just been thrown into the run ??  It is quickly covered in dirt, a dark brown mess.

Corn on the cob is very much the same, it quickly becomes a dark brown mess.  To fix this I stuck 4 short dowels into a short slab of pine, drill a hole into the end of the corn cobs and slide them onto the dowels.  The ladies love it.  They pick them clean.

corn cob feeder  6/13

corn cob feeder 6/13

I’m trying to grow turnips for the first time this year.  I’ve grown rutabagas with limited success in the past and they are pretty much the same thing.  I plant a lot of different things but not a lot of one thing.  So I thinned my turnips to 10 plants and they were doing well.  Then one of them started to wilt and then another.  I dug them up and the root was eaten into a honey comb by ants.  I’m trying DE (diatomaceous earth) sprinkled around the plants to see if this will get rid of the ants.

young turnip eaten by ants 6/13

young turnip eaten by ants 6/13

Ed

5 comments
  1. Love the corn cob feeders. You are an old softy I think. Good luck with the ants. They don’t like mint and that helps. I have driven them away from some places with mint but other places they just go around it. They can be so destructive.

  2. I try to be an old softy, ask my grand-kids. I don’t use mint and am afraid of how it spreads, but if ants don’t like it maybe I should try it.
    Ed

  3. Don’t let my chickens see this post! They will go on egg laying strike and start picket lines demanding better treatment.

    • They probably won’t see this. I’m guessing if they don’t have a deluxe corn cob feeder they don’t have internet access either. Thanks for the laugh.
      Ed

  4. Your chickens are getting just what they deserve. All chickens should be spoiled!

    I know what you mean about a piece of watermelon hurled into the run – eeewww icky! But one of my chooks either loves dirt or is stupid (or, most likely, both). Every time we give our chooks treats, we put them in bowls. We tired plates but Isabel immediately scratches it off. She gets a lot out of the bowls, but some stays in situ. She just likes eating off the dirt!

Leave a Reply

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

BuzzQuack

Helping gardeners get the most bang for their BAWK!

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

cats.don't.camp

The Adventures of a Girl Without Her Cat

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Adventures with Spice

From the Trails to the Cities, Find Beauty in Everything

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

mygardenmychickens

my backyard garden in holliston

Outdoorsandmore

Writing from the heart of Somerset

backyardchickenwisdom

Just another WordPress.com site

The Chick Roost

"Ain't nobody here but us chickens"

The Hillhouse

The Journey of a Mother and Son

Willow Creek Farm

High Altitude Homesteading

Life at Brookwood Shire

Living with Nature

