Broody Hen and other Stuff

Jasmine, our first hen to lay and our first hen to swell from a tick bite is our first hem to go broody.  For the past week she has been sitting in the nesting box trying to hatch the eggs that we keep removing from the box.  Since we have Jack, our rooster, the eggs are probably fertile.  And since we don’t have space for more chickens we will not be hatching any.

broody Jasmine in the nesting box  7/8/13

broody Jasmine in the nesting box 7/8/13

We have tried cool bathes and small ice packs under her but she is still broody.  She will remain outside with the other chickens after a cool bath but only for 30 to 45 minutes then she runs full tilt to the nesting box as if her house was on fire.  We are going to keep trying to gently stop the brooding, she seems fine, eats and drinks some, we just will see how this plays out.

Jasmine in the nesting box  7/8/13

Jasmine in the nesting box 7/8/13

Made a salad for supper, lettuce, kale, beans and a carrot fresh from the garden.  Sauteed some boneless, skinless chicken thighs and it was quite good.

tonight's salad in the rough  7/10/13

tonight’s salad in the rough 7/10/13

For dessert, vanilla ice cream with strawberry sauce that I made last weekend.  I found a recipe on-line that had balsamic vinegar in it, so that was the one I tried.  It is quite good if I do say so myself.

I also made up some jars of Strawberry-Rhubarb jam.  Which is also quite good.

Strawberry-Rhubarb jam and one jar of Strawberry sauce  7/7/13

Strawberry-Rhubarb jam and one jar of Strawberry sauce 7/7/13

I wish I could say that the strawberries were mine.  I can not, I picked them at a U-Pick-Farm.  I have not been able to grow strawberries, I am still trying though. At least the rhubarb is mine.

Ed

3 comments
  1. You can grow strawberries…you just cant get to them before the deer do. Which amounts to the same thing I suppose. The deer, or something, came back and finished the rest of my strawberry plants. So I guess we are in the same boat.

    I got my carrots in late this year, so I haven’t really checked them…but yours are ready? Maybe I will peek at one of mine tomorrow. I think my garlic might be ready too. So all is not lost.

    Good luck with Jasmine. My Amber is a bit broody, but I can still distract her. Since they all insist on using the same nesting box, she can’t sit in it all day! And since we don’t have a rooster, there’s no point.

    Can you share your jam recipe? Or better yet, blog the process… Thanks. Patti

  2. Oh dear, a broody hen. None of mine have ever done that (touch wood). Good luck getting her over it.

    Maybe you can tempt her with some of your jam. I know I’d abandon a nest box for that!

Leave a Reply

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

BuzzQuack

Helping gardeners get the most bang for their BAWK!

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

cats.don't.camp

The Adventures of a Girl Without Her Cat

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Adventures with Spice

From the Trails to the Cities, Find Beauty in Everything

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

mygardenmychickens

my backyard garden in holliston

Outdoorsandmore

Writing from the heart of Somerset

backyardchickenwisdom

Just another WordPress.com site

The Chick Roost

"Ain't nobody here but us chickens"

The Hillhouse

The Journey of a Mother and Son

Willow Creek Farm

High Altitude Homesteading

Life at Brookwood Shire

Living with Nature

