Finished and I am Sore

The run expansion is finished.

I put 2″ X 3″ wire fencing on the top of the run, it came with black plastic coating.  I don’t know if the hawks will see the fencing or just look through it.  If they try to fly through it, well , should be interesting.

I dug a trench around the chain link dog run sections and wired 3′ wide chicken wire 18″ up on the chain link and 18″ into the trench.  Then I partially filled the trench with small rocks ( New England grows small rocks and I have a pile that I have collected over the years) before filling in the rest with dirt.  This should discourage any digging under by predators.  This is why I am sore, ditch digging is for younger people.  I dug about 45 feet of trench.

The 2 doors, one on the original run and the one on the expanded run latch at the same place roughly, where the 2 sections are 90 degrees to each other.  So when you open both doors out and hook them together opened, they form a chain link wall allowing the chickens to roam from the old run into the new run without getting loose.  This will allow us to separate the chickens or introduce new chickens in a controlled way.  I already locked them in the expanded run while I cleaned out the old run.  Worked great.    I placed a salvaged wire mesh for a top over this and we are done.

2 X 3s holding up the wire fencing on the top of the run

2 X 3s holding up the wire fencing on the top of the run

trenching with rocks and chicken wire
trenching with rocks and chicken wire

completed section

completed section

trenching

trenching

in the background you can see how the doors are when opened.

in the background you can see how the doors are when opened.

Ed

 

8 comments
  1. This is an amazing run. It looks beautiful and – most importantly – safe. I hope your girls know how lucky they are.

    I can’t help but comment on the last photo, no, I’m not talkin’ ’bout the doors, those girls look so funny standing on those perches preening themselves. That urge to perch is a strong one!

  2. What a lot of work but worth it to keep Jack and his girls safe and happy.

  3. Ed, Good Lord Almighty have you worked your butt off!! I would never be so brave as to try and do it the ‘right’ way as you have. Your place looks ‘catalog’ perfect. I am envious, for I haven’t the steam power to get a fraction of this done. Congrats! Hope you slept really well…

    • Thank you, the pressure was on because I was going on vacation for 2 weeks and wanted a larger run for the ladies and Jack to be in while I was gone. Back home now and the chickens are fine.
      Ed

Leave a Reply

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

BuzzQuack

Helping gardeners get the most bang for their BAWK!

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

cats.don't.camp

The Adventures of a Girl Without Her Cat

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Adventures with Spice

From the Trails to the Cities, Find Beauty in Everything

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

mygardenmychickens

my backyard garden in holliston

Outdoorsandmore

Writing from the heart of Somerset

backyardchickenwisdom

Just another WordPress.com site

The Chick Roost

"Ain't nobody here but us chickens"

The Hillhouse

The Journey of a Mother and Son

Willow Creek Farm

High Altitude Homesteading

Life at Brookwood Shire

Living with Nature

