Crazy Chicken People

This is from one of the blogs I follow.

http://brookwoodshire.wordpress.com/2013/11/29/you-thought-my-girls-were-spoiled/

Being a frugal yankee I decided to make one rather than buy one.  I’m glad I did, it has been 3 days and not one chicken has gotten on it by themselves.  My wife did place each of the chickens, including Jack, on it the first day .  I don’t think they are swingers.  I’m going to try their main motivator, food.  I’ll hang some kale on the sides high enough that they can reach it from the swing but not the ground.

DSCF0001 DSCF0003

Ed

5 comments
  1. It certainly looks like a fun swing. I will be watching for updates. I wonder how the chicken swing people got their chickens to try it…..

    • Maybe they hired “stunt-chickens” to fill in.

      • 😊

  2. Any movement on the swing yet?

    As an aside, Henny, my hen which is the apple of my rooster’s eye, flapped away from my dog today which unsettled her saddle (which I made after fantastic coaching from your wife). She immediately “preened” her saddle back into place. It’s hilarious to watch her preen herself and treat her saddle (which I think of as a cap) like it’s a cloak of feathers.

    I wish she were easier to hold so I could go and check her skin thoroughly to make sure the saddle is really helping, but I’m sure she’d rather I keep my hands off!

    • No movement on the swing, right now it is sleeting so the chickens are staying in the original run with the roof. The swing is out in the open run and covered in a layer of ice.
      I don’t pay a lot of attention to the saddles. But I don’t think anyone of our ladies has ever “preened it back into place”. They seem very happy when it comes off. Maybe, Henny has more fashion sense than our ladies. Or, if she sees it as a cape, she might see herself as “Mighty Henny” super-hero of the chicken world. Maybe comic books are in your future.
      Ed

Leave a Reply

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

BuzzQuack

Helping gardeners get the most bang for their BAWK!

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

cats.don't.camp

The Adventures of a Girl Without Her Cat

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Adventures with Spice

From the Trails to the Cities, Find Beauty in Everything

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

mygardenmychickens

my backyard garden in holliston

Outdoorsandmore

Writing from the heart of Somerset

backyardchickenwisdom

Just another WordPress.com site

The Chick Roost

"Ain't nobody here but us chickens"

The Hillhouse

The Journey of a Mother and Son

Willow Creek Farm

High Altitude Homesteading

Life at Brookwood Shire

Living with Nature

