Soft Pretzels

roasted butternut soup and soft pretzels

roasted butternut soup and soft pretzels

This recipe is from King Arthur Flour with some modifications.  I make my dough in a Kitchen-aid mixer with a dough hook.  I do finish the kneading by hand.

Dough

2 tsp instant yeast,  1 Tbs sugar, 1 cup warm water (100-105 F),  3 cups unbleached bread flour, 1/4 cup ground flax seed (optional, I like the taste and it’s good for my heart) , 1 Tbs olive oil (melted butter or any oil will work), 1 tsp salt

Wash

5 Tbs warm water,  3 tsp sugar,  2 tsp baking soda

Toppings: (optional)

pretzel salt or pearl sugar or cinnamon-sugar and melted butter.  I just sprinkle with sea salt.

Whisk together water yeast and sugar.  Add remaining ingredients and mix at low speed until dough is smooth and slightly sticky.  If it is too dry add cold water 1 Tbs at a time.  Knead by hand on a lightly floured surface, form into a ball. Place into a bowl with 1-2 Tbs olive oil and roll-around till ball is coated. Cover bowl with dish towel and let rest in a warm spot about 30-40 minutes ( dough should double in size).

Deflate dough (punch it), on a lightly floured surface Divide into 8 pieces.  Roll each piece into a 20″ rope. Shape each rope into a pretzel.

Mix together Wash (water, sugar and baking soda) in a shallow bowl.  Carefully dip into wash flipping to coat all. Place pretzels on to a backing sheet ( I lightly sprinkle sheet with corn meal).  At this point if I remember I sprinkle with sea salt.  They may be placed into a preheated 400 F oven now,  I like to let mine rest before I bake them for 10-20 minutes to get a softer pretzel.

Bake in a preheated 400 degree F oven for 12- 15 minutes until golden brown.  Remove and brush with belted butter and sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar ( I don’t do this).

This part might not be good for my heart, but it tastes SO GOOD.  I melt a half stick of butter to dip my warm pretzels in.  These are great with any soup.

Ed

11 comments
    • Really, you don’t know enough people. You should get out more, don’t be such an introvert.

  1. I’ve made soft pretzels in the past and love them. My recipe is slightly different but I think any white bread dough that gets dunked in baking soda water before baking works.

    I found the whole pretzel shaping and dunking (I drop mine in boiling water with baking soda) and scooping out and putting on a tray without deforming the darned things all too much like hard work. Plus they never cook evenly because I never form them evenly. So, what I do now is make pretzel rolls (laugen brotchen is the German term for these goodies). Same process but I form normal rolls after the first rising, slice their tops and let them rise a 2nd time then scoop them into the bath and onto a tray for baking until golden brown. These I eat every day for lunch – yes every day. Or 5 out of 7 anyway. They make fantastic little salami and cheese sandwiches but my favourite is served with a fried egg from one of my hens where I can dunk the roll in the yolk. To die for.

    I also sometimes (like twice a year – though I now have a craving for them) make pretzel sticks with the same recipe. Just roll the little ropes, let them rise on the baking tray, dip them and put them on baking trays to bake. They come out crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside and you can get more crunch or more soft depending on how thick you make the ropes.

    Of course all of this really loves to be sprinkled with lots of salt!

    • I had a fried egg sandwich on a pretzel for breakfast. YUM!

      • Trust me, make the darned things as a roll and the fried egg won’t fall through the holes!

  2. I realise I said I scoop the rolls into the bath – actually I drop them in and let them bubble in the boiling water for about 30 seconds, flip them over to boil another 30 seconds then out of the bath, on to the cookie sheet, sprinkle with salt then bake.

    And the pretzel sticks are fantastic on the first day – then (no matter how well I seal them) they tend to get chewing on the outside. I can’t keep them crisp like store-bought pretzels. I’ve never had a real problem finishing a batch on day 1 but that is part of why I don’t make them often.My rolls I store in the freezer and take one out each day and pop it in the oven to reheat – they re-heat perfectly. Do your pretzels keep well?

    • My pretzels never last long enough to know if they keep well.

      • Yeah, that’s a common “problem” with these things.

  3. Rebecca said:

    OMG–this looks SO good. I hope you’re bringing these on the trail!

    • Well thank you, they are/were good. I hadn’t considered taking them on the trail. They are best warm from the oven so shipping them in drop-boxes wouldn’t work. If I brought some with me —– I don’t think there would be any left by the time I got to the Mason-Dickson. Baking them on the trail just won’t work. I’ll be boiling water mostly. I do like to cook, so maybe, if a hostel had kitchen access, I could make some. Do you think I could charge enough to pay for my hostel?? Something to consider.
      Ed

      • Rebecca said:

        I’ve had similar wonderings as I, too, love to cook.

Leave a Reply

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

BuzzQuack

Helping gardeners get the most bang for their BAWK!

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

cats.don't.camp

The Adventures of a Girl Without Her Cat

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Adventures with Spice

From the Trails to the Cities, Find Beauty in Everything

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

mygardenmychickens

my backyard garden in holliston

Outdoorsandmore

Writing from the heart of Somerset

backyardchickenwisdom

Just another WordPress.com site

The Chick Roost

"Ain't nobody here but us chickens"

The Hillhouse

The Journey of a Mother and Son

Willow Creek Farm

High Altitude Homesteading

Life at Brookwood Shire

Living with Nature

